Profiles of the Members of the Board of Education

The Board of Education is the authorized state agency responsible for setting educational policy in the district. It consists of seven members. They serve three-year terms and receive no salary or other financial compensation.
The Board of Education will hold regular meetings on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month. The meeting will begin at 6:15 p.m. at the Riverhead High School Music Room 123, 700 Harrison Avenue, Riverhead, NY. After the meeting is opened to the public, the Board will immediately recess to executive session to discuss personnel matters until 7:00 p.m. at which time they will reconvene into public session in the Riverhead High School Auditorium (unless otherwise stated), 700 Harrison Avenue, Riverhead, NY. (See Meeting Dates.)

willySusan Koukounas is the President of the Board of Education. She served as Vice President in the 2014-15 school year. Susan is a math professor at Suffolk County Community College. She was a PTO president for three years and vice president for one; she was also on the CPR team for the Bond Referendum, and was a founding member of Riverhead WAVE Foundation, a nonprofit group that seeks to raise money to support school programs. Ms. Koukounas lives in Aquebogue and has two children in Riverhead schools.

lantzAmelia Lantz is the Vice President of the Board of Education. Ms. Lantz is a lifelong Riverhead resident and a U.S. Air Force veteran, who was deployed overseas. A 1983 Riverhead High School graduate, Ms. Lantz and her husband, Dave, have two daughters in the district. She has been an active member of the Roanoke Parent-Teacher Organization and was the chairperson of the Roanoke's Holiday Giving Chain. Ms. Lantz has been on the Board of Education since July 2010.

TimGriffingAnn Cotten-DeGrasse was a teacher in the Riverhead Central School District for 30 years and served as the Riverhead Central Faculty Association President for 5 years. Twelve years after her retirement, she was elected to the Board of Education. She served as board president. Ms. Cotten-DeGrasse also founded the North Fork Breast Health Coalition in 1998. She served as president of the coalition from 2005 to 2012. The East End Women's Network honored Ms. Cotten-DeGrasse as its "Woman of the Year" for 2013.

Christopher Dorr  lives in Baiting Hollow and has three children. He has coached PAL football and lacrosse. Mr. Dorr has an MBA in marketing and is employed as a Nassau BOCES data coordinator, who analyzes student tests, staff evaluations and handles state reporting for schools in Nassau. He hopes to bring his talents to the table in the light of the "ever-increasing tasks of state reporting".

TimGriffingLaurie Downs  lives in Polish Town and works as an administrative assistant for MLicata Entertainment. Ms. Downs served as PTO executive council president and event planner, RHS PTSO president, and middle school PTO secretary. Ms. Downs also served on the district’s capital improvement bond committee. She acted as a volunteer videographer of the Board of Education meetings for 15 years. Her children were both graduates of Riverhead High School.

KIMKimberly Ligon   is a long-time Riverhead resident and a 1985 graduate of Riverhead High School. She is a college graduate with a degree in Recreation Management. Mrs. Ligon is the wife of Fred Ligon, and they have two daughters presently attending Riverhead schools (RHS and Roanoke). Mrs. Ligon has been employed by Peconic Bay Medical Center for the past 25 years. Mrs. Ligon joined the Board of Education in July, 2011.

greggGregory Meyer  was elected to the Board in 2008. He also served as President and Vice President of the Board. He is a firefighter and emergency medical technician at the Brookhaven National Laboratory and also a volunteer firefighter for the Wading River Fire Department. He's also involved in coaching youth activities (PAL sports) and is a volunteer football coach at RHS. Mr. Meyer is the father of three Riverhead High School graduates and lives in Calverton.