Board of Education

The Board of Education is the authorized state agency responsible for setting educational policy in the district. It consists of seven members. They serve three-year terms and receive no salary or other financial compensation. Current Board of Education Members include: Susan Koukounas (President), Amelia Lantz (Vice President), Ann Cotten-DeGrasse, Christopher Dorr, Laurie Downs, Kimberly Ligon and Gregory M. Meyer.
(See Board Member Profiles.)


ANNOUNCEMENT Board of Education Nominations Due April 17, 2017   
Nominating petitions are available for pickup by contacting the District Clerk at 631-369-4724. The petitions are due no later than 5:00 P.M. on Monday, April 17, 2017, to the office of the District Clerk. There are three vacancies for a term of three years each, commencing July 1, 2017
and ending June 30, 2020.

The Board of Education has an email address -- which goes to all members
If you would like to contact the Board of Education, you can email them at
(Email will be sent to all Board members.)

The Board of Education will hold regular meetings on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month. (See Meeting Dates.) (See News and Announcements Page for Board of Education.)

 Board of Education News Postings - BoardDocs is online now  
In January 2014, the Board of Education went online with its BOARD DOCS website. The site hosts information about Board of Education Meetings (notices, agendas, resolutions, minutes, etc.), Board of Education policies and goals, a list of the Board members and more. (See BoardDocs.)



The Board of Education POLICY MANUAL has also been transferred into a more searchable list. You can access it HERE .

Goals of the Board of Education:
The Board of Education adopted District Goals: Board Goals



Next Board Meeting
       * * * * * *
REGULAR BOARD OF ED. Meetings are scheduled for the second and fourth Tuesday of the month - See Home Page for Notice / Agenda in BoardDocs

           * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *


Residential real property may
qualify for a partial exemption from school district taxes under the NYS school tax relief (STAR) program. Please contact your local assessor: Riverhead: 727-3200 x257, Southampton: 283-6020, Brookhaven: 451-6300.

Information and Links
Board of Ed. Policy Manual Online
Click HERE to see current Policies

Tax Cap Questions and Answers
Understanding New York's Property Tax Levy Cap as it relates to public schools
10/ 2011