Hitting High Notes

Hitting High Notes photo thumbnail87341
Musical accomplishments in the Riverhead Central School District have been abundant this year, as more than 70 talented students in grades 6-12 were selected to perform in several prestigious music festivals at the local and regional levels, some in more than one festival.

Forty-seven students in grades 7-12 were honored with selection to the Hampton Music Educators Association Festival, while eight students in grades 6-12 were chosen for the Suffolk Intermediate and Suffolk Secondary festivals of the Long Island String Festival Association. Thirty-eight students in grades 6-10 were chosen for the Suffolk County Music Educators Association All-County Festival, and 10 students in grades 8-12 were selected for the New York State Band Directors Association Annual Symposium in March.  

“It is a tremendous accomplishment for our young musicians to be selected for these ensembles, and we’re very proud of them,” said Lauren Lewonka, the district’s director of fine arts. “The discipline and perseverance it takes to achieve this level of musical excellence is impressive.”  

Each of the students was selected for these honors after receiving high scores on their performance at the New York State School Music Association Evaluation Festival last spring. 

The district extends its congratulations to the following student-musicians. 

NYSBDA High School Honor Concert Band
Laura Allen (bass clarinet)
Lydia Bilski (oboe)
Olivia Bozuhoski (flute)
Olivia Dickerson (flute)
Lauren Enos (clarinet)
Ainsley Hipp (clarinet)
Christiana Santoro (oboe)
Brady Wells (piccolo)

NYSBDA Honor Jazz Ensemble
Michael Bianco (trumpet)

NYSBDA Middle School Honor Band
Riley Wendt (percussion)

LISFA Intermediate
Emily Flores (violin)
Rose Green (violin)
LISFA Secondary
Nathaniel Bollermann (cello)
Sarah Anne Fried (violin)
Lily Kutner (violin)
Josie Manucha (violin)
Emma Mearkle (cello)
Lauren Schaefer (violin)

SCMEA Division I East Band
Olivia Haupt (snare drum)
Alexandra Santoro (Bb clarinet)

SCMEA Division I East Chorus
Victoria Arm (Pulaski – voice)
Ava Gradischer (Pulaski – voice)
Jared Knight (Pulaski – voice)
Carley Mae Lamond (Pulaski – voice)
Kaysee Mojo (Pulaski – voice)

SCMEA Division I East Orchestra
Rose Green (Pulaski – violin) 
Beatrice Stefan (Pulaski – cello)

SCMEA Division II East Band
Maksim Asanov (RMS – flute)
Bryan Enos (RMS – baritone/euphonium)
Katherine Jakubowsky (RMS – alto sax)

SCMEA Division II East Chorus
Jesse Meehan (baritone)
Joseph Podlas (baritone)
Kathryn Thompson (RMS – voice/alto)
Orangilee Wilkinson (RMS – voice/alto)

SCMEA Division II East Orchestra
Nora Connelly (RMS – trombone)
Melissa Espinoza (RMS – cello)
Emily Flores (RMS – violin)
Nikita Gribanov (RMS – trumpet/cornet)
Sophia Haupt (RMS – cello)
Natalia Radziwonski (RMS –violin)

SCMEA Division III East Band
Laura Allen (RHS – bass clarinet)
Lydia Bilski (RHS – oboe)
Nathaniel Bollermann (RHS – alto sax)
Lila Bowe (RHS – alto sax)
Lauren Enos (RHS – Bb clarinet)
Sabrina Maccaron (RHS – tenor sax)
Christian Mato (RHS – baritone/euphonium)
Kieran McCabe (RHS – trumpet/cornet)

SCMEA Instrumental Jazz Band High School
Nikita Sipiaguine (RHS – alto sax)

SCMEA Division III East Chorus
Jennifer Anasky (RHS –voice/alto)
Ethan Lucas (RHS – voice/tenor)
Madison Payne (RHS – voice/alto)

SCMEA Division III Orchestra
William Green (RHS – snare drum)
Ainsley Hipp (RHS – Bb clarinet)
Lily Kutner (RHS – violin)
Megan McIntosh (RHS – viola)

HMEA High School
Rachel Abad (voice)
Laura Allen (bass clarinet)
Leslie Alvizures (viola)
Jennifer Anasky (voice)
Crysten Apicello (cello)
Quinn Bailey (trombone)
Michael Bianco (trumpet)
Erika Bilski (tuba)
Lydia Bilski (oboe)
Nathaniel Bollermann (alto saxophone)
Lila Bowe (alto saxophone)
Olivia Bozuhoski (flute)
Joshua Caskie (violin)
Kiersten Corwin (voice)
Olivia Dickerson (flute)
Douglas Drozd (trombone)
Lauren Enos (clarinet)
Alex Estrada (trumpet)
Steven Garcia (violin)
Laine Girolamo (cello)
William Green (drum set – Jazz; timpani)
Matt Hanson (trumpet – Jazz)
Ainsley Hipp (clarinet)
Sydney Huber (tenor Sax – Jazz)
Giovanni Iona (voice)
Jordan Jager (trombone)
Paris Kayel (violin)
Lily Kutner (voice)
William Lopez (violin)
Ethan Lucas (voice)
Sabrina Maccaron (tenor saxophone)
Josie Manucha (violin)
Ravi Manucha (violin)
Christian Mato (Euphonium)
Megan McIntosh (viola)
Alex Montalbano (clarinet)
Jacob Nitti (bass – Jazz)
Madison Payne (voice)
Jason Rios (alto saxophone)
Christiana Santoro (oboe)
Lauren Schaefer (violin)
Nikita Sipiaguine (alto sax – Jazz)
Avenue Smith (violin)
Madison Stromski (viola)
Jacqueline Velasquez (violin)
Gabriela Vogel (voice)
Brady Wells (flute)