skip to main content

The Members of the Board of Education

About the Board of Education   
The Board of Education is the authorized state agency responsible for setting educational policy in the district. It consists of seven members. They serve three-year terms and receive no salary or other financial compensation.

The regular monthly business meetings of the Riverhead Central School District Board of Education will be held on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Riverhead High School Auditorium, 700 Harrison Avenue, riverhead NY (unless otherwise specified.)

Prior to the start of each regular meeting, the Board will convene in executive session at 6:15 p.m. in the Riverhead High School Music Room 123, 700 Harrison Avenue, Riverhead to discuss personnel and other executive item matters

Click here to eMail the Board of Education

Susan Koukounas Susan Koukounas, President   
Susan Koukounas is the Vice President of the Board and has previously served as President. She is a math professor at Suffolk County Community College. She was a PTO president for three years and vice president for one; she was also on the CPR team for the Bond Referendum, and was a founding member of Riverhead WAVE Foundation, a nonprofit group that seeks to raise money to support school programs. Ms. Koukounas lives in Aquebogue and has two children in Riverhead schools.

Christopher Dorr Christopher Dorr, Vice President   
Christopher Dorr  lives in Baiting Hollow and has three children. He has coached PAL football and lacrosse. Mr. Dorr has an MBA in marketing and is employed as a Nassau BOCES data coordinator, who analyzes student tests, staff evaluations and handles state reporting for schools in Nassau. He hopes to bring his talents to the table in the light of the "ever-increasing tasks of state reporting".

Laurie Downs Laurie Downs, Trustee   
Laurie Downs  lives in Polish Town and works as an administrative assistant for MLicata Entertainment. Ms. Downs served as PTO executive council president and event planner, RHS PTSO president, and middle school PTO secretary. Ms. Downs also served on the district’s capital improvement bond committee. She acted as a volunteer videographer of the Board of Education meetings for 15 years. Her children were both graduates of Riverhead High School.

Gregory Meyer Gregory Meyer, Trustee   
Gregory Meyer  was elected to the Board in 2008. He also served as President and Vice President of the Board. He is a firefighter and emergency medical technician at the Brookhaven National Laboratory and also a volunteer firefighter for the Wading River Fire Department. He's also involved in coaching youth activities (PAL sports) and is a volunteer football coach at RHS. Mr. Meyer is the father of three Riverhead High School graduates and lives in Calverton.

Elizabeth C. Silva Elizabeth C. Silva, Trustee   
Elizabeth C. Silva lives in Aquebogue and works as a special education teacher at Eastern Suffolk BOCES in Westhampton Beach. She has a master’s degree in early childhood, special education and bilingual education. Elizabeth also works part time for the ESBOCES Migrant Education Program and volunteers as a catechist at St. John’s Church in Riverhead. She has been a bilingual special education educator for over 24 years.
She has two daughters with her husband, Eduardo. Victoria is a Riverhead High School and Sarah Lawrence College graduate who will be pursuing a master’s degree in bioethics at Stony Brook University in fall 2018. Monica is moving up to Riverhead High School in fall 2018. The Silvas are very proud of their trilingual (English, Spanish, French) daughters.
Elizabeth hopes to bring her parenting, professional and cultural background to the BOE table to assist the district with the diverse needs of students and families. She strives to support the initiatives of the superintendent and the BOE for all students.

Therese Zuhoski Therese Zuhoski, Trustee   

Brian Connelly, Trustee   

File Cabinet

Search File Cabinet

Open the calendar popup.
Open the calendar popup.